Isle Of Magic

by Mop Mop

supported by
  • Limited Edition Autographed 180gr Vinyl

    Limited edition autographed heavy vinyl. The vinyl comes with the album download card.

    Includes immediate download of 1-track album in the high-quality format of your choice (MP3, FLAC, and more), plus unlimited mobile access using the free Bandcamp listening app.

    Sold Out



Tracklist :

A1 - Jua Kiss
A2 - Let I Go feat. Anthony Joseph
A3 - Kamakumba
A4 - Heritage feat. Anthony Joseph
A5 - Phantom Of The Panther
A6 - The Golden Bamboo

B1 - Run Around feat. Fred Wesley and Anthony Joseph
B2 - Loa Chant feat. Sara Sayed
B3 - Black Ivory
B4 - Damballah
B5 - Mojomamy
B6 - Afro Jojo Part One
B7 - Afro Jojo Part Two

Anyone familiar with Mop Mop will already know that their refined style has already lend them a unique place somewhere between the worlds of jazz, funk, latin and the Italian Postmodern style allowed the band to achieve the International film business as part of Woody Allen's 'To Rome With Love' movie soundtrack. But with this latest LP 'Isle Of Magic', Mop Mop digs even deeper to bring us one of their most engaging and organic records yet.

Mop Mop's fourth studio album has come together over the course of a couple of years where producer Andrea Benini has been searching for new directions with the band.
Collaborations in the album include Funk legend Fred Wesley, Trinidad-born poet/singer Anthony Joseph and Finnish-Egyptian vocalist Sara Sayed. Over fifteen musicians were involved during the production of the album including Andrea Benini’s co-arranger Alex Trebo on piano, Pasquale Mirra on vibraphone and marimba, Guglielmo Pagnozzi on clarinette and flute, Johannes Schleiermacher (Bajka, Radio Citizen, Woima Collective) on baritone sax, Lorenzo Ternelli and Salvatore Lauriola on bass and Danilo Mineo on percussions-- just to name a few.

'Isle Of Magic' contains 13 tracks of pure Voodoo Jazz, Caribbean flavours, Afro-Funk, Exotic rhythms and Soul music. The album has been recorded between Germany and Italy with the use of vintage analog equipment to achieve a sound with all the “warm” qualities of vintage analog tape recordings; sessions have been recorded during the period March/August 2011. Isle Of Magic is an imaginary land populated by musicians who spend their time fishing, cooking, playing and practicing Voodoo rites at night. The whole album represents the soundtrack of this imaginary life.

Personnel :

Andrea Benini - drums, percussions, vocals
Alex Trebo - piano, prepared piano, electric piano, clavinet, moog
Pasquale Mirra - vibraphone, marimba
Guglielmo Pagnozzi - clarinet, flute
Salvatore Lauriola - electric bass
Lorenzo Ternelli - electric bass
Danilo Mineo - congas, surdo, karkabou, bendir, udu drums, cowbells, shakers

-- With --

Fred Wesley - trombone
Anthony Joseph - vocals
Sara Sayed - vocals
Bruno Briscik - double bass, electric cello
Johannes Schleiermacher - baritone sax
Lutz Schlosser - acoustic guitar
Simon Rainer - electric guitar
Lorenzo Gasperoni - congas, bongos, talking drum, djembe, kenkeni, dununbà, shakers
Max Castlunger - steel pan, kalimba, shakers
Emanuel Valentin - hang


released 04 March 2013
arranged and produced by Andrea Benini
mastered by Kelly Hibbert
artwork by Gianni Rossi
released by Agogo Records



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist